Week 4: 6.2.12 and a Quiche (of the Broccoli, Ham, and Smoked Goat Cheddar Sort)

How is it already Week 4? How is it possible that I only have 2 more days to teach until summer vacation?? I can tell that our CSA shares from Creekside are becoming more bountiful as we get farther into the season. I particularly recall Josh (our farmer) telling us last year that a full CSA share would work for 2 people if they really liked veggies. :)

This week we got:

Green leaf lettuce
Red leaf lettuce (dear lettuce, I promise to treat you better than I did last week!)
A bag of spinach
Snow peas
Snap peas
Broccoli
Pak choy (Cornell University tells me that this is the same as Bok choy)
Garlic scapes
Strawberries

It was also our 2nd cheese week! It was a goat cheese week, which made us both very happy. There was a soft, spreadable chèvre from Farm Fromage.


There was also a hard smoked goat cheddar from Misty Creek Goat Dairy (which appears to be the home diary for Farm Fromage).

Today for lunch I decided to put some of that smoked goat cheese to use along with some of the broccoli and a few surviving scallions from last week. I decided on a quiche (I’ll provide the recipe because it was my own).

Broccoli, Ham, and Smoked Goat Cheddar Quiche

Ingredients:

1 pie crust (I had a refrigerated pie crust in my freezer…which I guess makes it a frozen pie crust.)  ;)
2 small bunches of broccoli, stems removed (and saved in freezer in my Future Stock Bag)
2 scallions
About 1/2 cup shredded smoked goat cheddar
About 1 cup of cubed, cooked ham (we cubed and froze leftovers from our Easter ham this year)
6 eggs
1 cup 2% milk
1/4 teaspoon mustard powder
Salt
Pepper

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Unroll / roll out pie crust to fit in standard pie plate. Fill uncooked pie crust evenly with broccoli florets, chopped scallions, shredded goat cheddar, and ham cubes. In a mixing bowl, whisk the eggs, milk, mustard powder, and salt and pepper to taste. Pour egg mixture evenly over the vegetables, cheese, and ham.

Place quiche on a rimmed baking sheet (to catch any accidental spills) and bake for about 50 minutes, or until egg is set and doesn’t jiggle. (I started checking around 40 minutes and it was probably closer to 1 hour until it was set.)

One thought on “Week 4: 6.2.12 and a Quiche (of the Broccoli, Ham, and Smoked Goat Cheddar Sort)

Thanks for visiting! Leave a comment here: