Buttermilk Pancakes with Fresh Sweet Cherry Sauce

It’s time for a confession. I am absolutely terrible at making pancakes. Oh, I know all the tips and tricks. I’ve tried a bunch of recipes that everyone swears are “tried and true”. I have the Pampered Chef double-burner griddle (hosted a party once and essentially got this for free!) and I make sure to preheat it. I carefully measure the batter and gently scoop it onto the griddle. I stare at it faithfully (maybe this is my problem – should I look away?) until the little bubbles form and start to pop, then I flip them over with my nonstick spatula. When finished, I even put them on an oven-safe dish and keep them warm in a 200 degree oven.

But honestly? They’re always too flat, or too eggy, or not quite cooked enough, or a really weird shape…. today I tried a new recipe with high hopes, but they were almost like crepes. At least they tasted ok, and I threw some chocolate chips in the batter to compliment the cherry sauce.

The cherry sauce, on the other hand, turned out just how I hoped. I wasn’t working from a recipe, but I’ll share what I did. This was really tasty on the pancakes, and we also thought it would be good over ice cream.

(Note: in the background you’ll notice some eggs we bought at Danda Farms yesterday. I’ll post more about our visit shortly. They come from pastured chickens (Rhode Island Reds, the website tells me), and they were DELICIOUS!)

Sweet Cherry Sauce

Ingredients:

3/4 pound sweet cherries
1/3 cup sugar

Clean, stem, and pit cherries. Put them in a medium saucepan with sugar (more or less depending on the sweetness of your cherries). Gently mash the cherries with a potato masher, leaving some whole. Heat over medium-low until cherries soften and sauce begins to thicken.

Thanks for visiting! Leave a comment here: