Broccoli Cheese Soup

20120621-094315.jpg

Yesterday it was 95 degrees outside. Who makes soup when it’s nearly 100 degrees?? I do! With the A/C running there’s really no reason NOT to make soup, right?

I wanted to try this recipe when I saw the episode of The Pioneer Woman on Food Network. I had 2 heads of broccoli from our Creekside CSA share this week, and the recipe calls for 4. I just halved the recipe (which still made 4 servings!) I also used all 2% milk because that’s what we had. I chose to use the immersion blender for a bit, but I stopped before all the pieces of broccoli were blended to get a mixed texture. As you can see, I added some oyster crackers, but I think mixing in some cubed ham would be delicious (or topping with crumbled bacon).

Click here for the recipe on Food Network’s website!

Thanks for visiting! Leave a comment here: