Week 8: 6.30.12 (mmm, fresh garlic)

…and on the last day of June, our Creekside CSA got even more abundant and exciting. :) This week we got:

Carrots
Garlic (seriously the best garlic ever)
Zucchini
Yellow Squash
Cucumber
Broccoli
Cauliflower
Green Beans
Red Leaf Lettuce
Swiss Chard
Candy Onions

It was also a cheese week.

We got Colby


…and Pepper Jack.

I’m so excited for this Pepper Jack (my 2nd favorite cheese!) This one is particularly good because I can really taste the flavor of the peppers. Some Pepper Jack seems to just be spicy for the sake of being spicy, without any real pepper flavor. Not this stuff! This is delicious. I’ve already made a cheesy egg scramble with Colby for Ben and Pepper Jack for me (sorry, no photo).

You may think that with all the goodies in our CSA share, we wouldn’t want to buy anything extra. Actually, we bought a dozen ears of (awesome) corn, blueberries, tomatoes, and peaches. We needed some corn to eat with crabs this weekend, and how could I possibly pass up blueberries this pretty??

This week is our (7th!!) wedding anniversary, so we’re eating out one night and going somewhere for dinner on July 4th, so I’ll be doing lots of freezing for later. So far, I cut the broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, yellow squash, some garlic, and 1 candy onion for stir fry-type meals. We ate some this weekend with brown rice and a teriyaki sauce with a touch of sriracha hot sauce. The rest I froze in freezer bags. With rice or maybe soba noodles, each bag will serve 4. Although I didn’t add any protein this weekend, I’ll probably add chicken, beef, or shrimp to these veggies sometime in the fall or winter when I’m missing all this summer produce.

Happy 4th of July, all!

Thanks for visiting! Leave a comment here: